Glades County Courthouse (Keith Vincent Collection)

    Glades County, which is actually just north of the Everglades, was one of several new counties carved from DeSoto in the partition of 1921. It was almost named "Muck County."  Prior to 1921 many DeSoto residents faced a circuitous all-day journey to the county seat in Arcadia, a fact exacerbated in the Glades area due to a total lack of highways.

     Postcard view of the Glades County Courthouse (Anne Kaylor Collection)Following a referendum the county seat of new Glades County was located at Moore Haven, at the site (marked by the famous "sentinel cypress" ) where the Caloosahatchee River exits Lake Okeechobee. The town had been founded in 1916 by James A. Moore. Among its claims to fame is Marian Newhall Horwitz O'Brien, said to be the first female mayor in the United States. Original meetings of the county
Photo of the Glades County Courthouse (Digital photo by Anne Kaylor) government were in space provided by the county school board. Much of Moore Haven and the surrounding area was destroyed in a catastrophic 1926 hurricane. The present courthouse, designed by E. C. Hosford, dates from 1928.

[Home]  [Index]   [ Page 3

Updated 10/17/2003